Finding Time For You

IMG_3053

This morning I woke up late for my morning run. I didn’t have nearly enough time to complete the run that I wanted without potentially being late for work. But before submitting to the fact that I would miss a workout today I took a second and thought, what is more important, my mental well-being or being 10 minutes late to work?

I grabbed my sneakers and headed out the door. It was a beautiful morning for a run and logging those morning miles made me feel centered and ready to start the day.

I rolled into work about 12 minutes late, but I was happy knowing that I had taken care of myself first.

Putting yourself first is vital to leading a happy and healthy life. It has taken me a long time to adapt to this mindset, but now I can’t imagine living without it. Every choice you make in life, every decision, and interaction starts with you. If you aren’t taking care of yourself and taking time for yourself, then all aspects of your life will suffer.

Here are some ways I make time for myself and take care of myself:

  1. Have a “me-night” where I watch whatever TV shows or movies I want as well as doing any other activities I like. Sometimes I will write, or read a book, or go for a walk.
  2. Make time for workouts. They keep me sane and I need them desperately to function.
  3. Unplug during a lunchtime walk. No texts, calls, or Facebook scrolling, just you time.

Try these tips to improve your health, happiness, and life!

Leave a Reply

