Gratitude

When I was a junior in high school a friend of mine told me about the good luck ritual behind 11:11. If you don’t know, the idea behind it is that, if you look at a clock and by chance, at that moment it is 11:11 am or pm then you have to make a wish.

I have always believed in wishing, in magic, in reminding yourself of your dreams on a daily basis. So, whenever I catch the clock at 11:11 I make a wish. I also wish on eyelashes and shooting stars, and all of those other nonsensical things that are unreasonable to believe in.

But, for me, every 11:11 wish or a wish on an eyelash I’ve ever made has come true. It’s not magic. It doesn’t happen immediately. It is months, years of wishing to get results. I count myself as very lucky to have my wishes, my dreams to come true.

But the other day, I looked down at my phone and it was 11:11 and for once in my life, I had nothing to wish for. Everything I had wished for my entire life I had, and for that I am so grateful.

I have a job that I love, a man that I love, and friends that I love. My family is well and my heart is full and I am so happy and content with life that I had nothing to wish for. So today, I am grateful.

I am grateful for the life I have. I am grateful that everything really does happen for a reason. I went through a very rough patch and here I am, on the other side, happier than I ever thought I could be. Wait out the storm. Fight through the hardship and struggle and realize that something stunningly beautiful is on the other side.

Today I encourage you to wish, hope, and dream because every hardship you face happens for a reason and you will get through it. Be grateful for tomorrow because it is leading you to your destiny.

Leave a comment