November Project

IMG_7344

I finally did it!

After wanting to try November Project, a free, grass-roots fitness project that started right here in Boston, for over a year, I have finally done it!

My best fitness friend, Stephanie and I woke up at 5 a.m. this morning to make our way to Harvard Stadium to run some stairs. It was early but we were both very excited. As known fitness freaks we could barely wait to try some new fitness adventure together.

My anxiety and excitement the night before had resulted in sleep that took the form of the night before Christmas rest, agitated and aware with a hint of awe.

After walking the half a mile from the train station to the stadium we were a little intimidated and a little struck by how big the stairs actually were. These weren’t your normal run the mill stairs, these were apparently steps made for giants, giants who were in very good shape I might add.

There were plenty of people easily making their way up the massive stairs but also some slow movers. I consider myself to be in pretty good shape, but I was no match for these things.

I usually managed to run about halfway up the steps and then I would lose momentum and have to walk/jog up the last few to the top. I was also slow coming down because they are very steep and I was scared.

After ten sections Stephanie and I called it quits with burning quads and tight calves. But even with the extreme exertion and heavy breathing November Project had cast its spell on me, and now I want to go back.

It was early, and difficult, and a struggle, but I was enjoying time with a close friend while working up a sweat and afterwards I couldn’t help but think that I could do more sets. So next Wednesday Stephanie and I will be attacking those giant stadium stairs again, with a goal of 12-15, closer to the 15 side, and we will get there!

Leave a Reply

