Breaking Free From the Rut

I’m definitely one of those people who gets bored pretty easily. It takes about ten minutes for me to lose interest in a TV show unless I give it my full attention and even when it comes to things like hydration, I can’t be bothered to drink boring old water all day.

My dislike of boring things, however, was challenged when I became dehydrated during a long training run and developed colitis. Now, my doctors have informed me, that I need to be hydrated all the time and to make sure I am well hydrated before I workout.

So I have taken a different approach to hydration that I think will be better for me in the long run and for my easily bored taste buds as well. I know that this is by no means a revolutionary idea, but iced tea is the trick to my happiness.

I started today by using my Keurig to brew up some of my favorite teas. I made some mint tea and some pomegranate white tea that I LOVE! I brewed them up and threw them in the freezer for a few minutes before putting them in the fridge for a bit.

Once the teas had cooled I threw them in a cup with ice (separately of course) and enjoyed them. The tea makes staying hydrated so much easier and tastier too!

Plus I know that the tea is a great detoxifier so my body is really benefiting from it! I also am making it a habit to drink green tea after my workouts every day in the hopes that it will help rev up my metabolism.

Leave a Reply

