Fuel Belts

I know I haven’t posted in awhile which means I have a lot to share with you guys! But first I wanted to touch upon hydration while training.

Last weekend I was all scheduled for a 16-18 mile run. I had caught a bit of a cold but I wasn’t going to let that get me down so I went anyway. It turned out that the cold wasn’t the problem. The real problem was thirst.

About 10 miles in I got very thirsty. This had happened during my 16 miler the week before so I thought I could power through, but by mile 14 I couldn’t imagine going on without water. I unfortunately had to cut my run short and get water asap. After I downed a large amount of water I felt much better, but I had learned a valuable lesson, I needed a hydration pack for my long runs.

The next day I went out and bought a hydration belt. This morning when I left for my run I was equipped with two water bottles, a small compartment for my keys, and a way to beat the thirst. I liked the access I had to water throughout my run but found that after a few steps the belt didn’t really stay on my body.

The bottles remained firmly in their holders which I was thankful for, but the belt kept sliding up and down my body instead of staying snugly at my hips. So I have a few kinks to work out, and yes it felt funny at first but I am excited to try it and be able to run far enough without dying of thirst!

One thought on “Fuel Belts

  1. Ohhh cool! What a great idea! I never run more than a few miles at a time (working my way up) but this is a great tip for anyone! I get so hot when I run outside in the sun. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

