Finding Myself Through Running

I think we lose ourselves sometimes.  We lose ourselves in the responsibilities of life and the duties that we obligate ourselves to.  We lose ourselves amongst the hustle and bustle of the world and the flow of life.

I have lost myself.  I have lost myself in jobs and work and applying for internships.  I have lost myself in the desire to build a good resume and to impress those around me.  I have lost myself.

I am finding myself again through running.  Marathon training is allowing me to find myself again.  Every day I get up and I do something for me.  I wake up and I run.  I run 5 miles, 3 miles, 7 miles, 10 miles.  I run miles, upon miles, upon miles, all for my own goal.

I have a goal.  Not a dream, not an aspiration, not a hope, I have a goal.  A goal that I know I can achieve.  A goal that I am fully capable of completing.  A goal that I can taste.  It is tangible to me, and I know that when the day comes, I will cross that finish line and be proud of what I’ve done.

So today I train.  Tomorrow I train.  And yes, I let myself get lost in work and school and planning my future but then I come back and find myself.  I find myself in a daily run and in the name of training for my goal.

I want to run this marathon more than I want to fall in love or graduate from college or find the perfect job.  I want to set this goal and accomplish it, and be so proud of myself, purely for the fact that I did it just for me.

Every day I do something for myself, and that is run.  Every day I run, because it is for me and I need it, I love it, I crave it.

One thought on “Finding Myself Through Running

Leave a Reply

