Detox Day 2

I have to say that at the beginning of today I was feeling good about the detox.  I was drinking lots of water and lots of herbal teas and my body felt good.  I avoided anything on the “foods to avoid” list right up until the end of the night.

At the end of my four hour class, I decided that detoxing wasn’t for me.  I came to this conclusion after a headache hit me half-way through class and I just couldn’t seem to get anything to make me feel full.

I am a very active person.  I workout every day and eat well pretty often, so I’m not quite sure my body was ready for such a drastic hit.  I felt bloated and low by the end of the day and that’s when I realized that detoxing wasn’t for me.

Surprisingly, I do not feel a sense of failure at having not reached the end of the seven day detox.  I feel enlightened.  I have learned a lot from this detox.  I have learned that I can live without a carb-heavy diet.  I can go without bread and pasta and that it’s okay to eat those things in small doses.

I learned that my body isn’t quite built to sustain the restrictive diet I was on, but is rather a more complex form that needs something else.  I found things in this detox that I can incorporate into my everyday eating habits.  I can focus on drinking more water and eating less complex carbohydrates like bread and pasta throughout the day.

So just remember, trying something new isn’t bad, and it’s ok to realize that it’s not for you.  Don’t be afraid to try, and don’t be afraid to start again with something new if what you tried didn’t work.

One thought on “Detox Day 2

Leave a Reply

