Hate Is Easy

I think it’s easy to hate.  It is easy to hate other people.  It is easy to hate your situation.  It is easy to hate your body.  It is easy to feel hate and to experience the desire to hate, but I think that what comes naturally to us is rather fear.

Fear that we will never become who we want to be.  Fear that we will never have the body we want.  Fear that we will never meet the guy we’re dreaming of.  Fear that we will not get the job we desire.  We fear.  We fear life and failure and all the things that cause us to struggle and to love.  It is that fear that makes us hate.

We hate others based upon our fear that we may never achieve what they have.  We hate others based upon our desire to dwell upon their flaws as well as our own.  We hate because it is easy.  It doesn’t take thought or consideration, it simply happens, and suddenly we feel something and suddenly we feel more ok.

But I simply want to love.  I want to cast aside the hate I feel for myself and others and the people who frustrate me or who make me jealous and instead love my life and what I have.

I can hate someone for having a perfect body but I know nothing of the work they may have put into that body.  I may hate someone for having a great relationship but I cannot foresee the ups and downs that they may have been through.  I can hate my body for not being the size or shape I want it to be, but it is so much simpler to love.

It is easier to look away from others and to love my body simply for being mine and for giving me life.  It is easier to focus on myself more than on others and their successes.  It is easier to love my choices and my life and what I have created then to hate myself or others.

I want to love.  I want to wake up everyday with a burning desire to love.  I want to look in the mirror and love my body.  I want to look at those in my life and see past their flaws, and simply love.  I want to love because that is what will make my life full.  I want to love, because while hatred is easy, loving makes life more worthwhile.

2 thoughts on “Hate Is Easy

Leave a comment