Overcome

Today this was something that I really needed to remind myself of.

I’ve had a rough day.  I was officially told by the athletic trainer at my college that the stress reaction in my left foot will keep me off the treadmill for 2-3 weeks.  Upon hearing this news I was heartbroken.

There is nothing I love more in this world than running.  It is my greatest release and I can honestly say that some of the happiest and freest moments of my life occurred while running.  I have been off the treadmill for almost a week already with this injury and I miss it so much.

I cannot, however, let this set back affect my overall fitness goals.  Just because I can’t run doesn’t mean I can’t bike or use the elliptical or strength train.

Since I can’t focus on my cardio goals as much as I would like to, I’m going to focus on strengthening other parts of my body and staying fit and healthy.

Staying healthy means healing the stress reaction in my foot.  A stress reaction is what occurs directly before a stress fracture and is when the bone starts weakening and breaking down.  The last thing I want as an athlete and fit person is to lose my ability to workout, so I need to watch this injury carefully.

I may miss running now, but I’ll miss it, and miss being in shape even more if I don’t take care of my injury now.  So even though this is a setback I have to overcome it and keep moving towards my fitness goals.

One thought on “Overcome

Leave a Reply

